top of page
Search

Mom Was My Hero.

Mom We all have our own memories and lived experience with my mom.. My Hero 1925 - 2019,

The Lord is my Shepard there is nothing I shall want.... Elizabeth is my mom there is nothing I shall want... Not because Mom was divinity, but because she taught and modelled her life as a humble servant who with a keen mind and compassionate soul, encouraged and guided me to improve the world by creatively being in service to others, and she did this as Jesus did... not telling us what to do but by giving us all we needed to do so… I remember my mom telling me about going to church Sunday... at the Pro Cathedral in North Bay... she said whether you believe it helps or not doesn’t matter.... but it certainly can t hurt :) (She was always practical with hope and faith) If I can live my life to her ideals of integrity, compassion, courage, and wisdom I will have lived a good life, there is nothing I shall want. (All of her children are in careers that are of service to others, a legacy of sorts,)

Mom left us lots of notes and directions on how to proceed these days after her passing… she reiterated them often over tea and cookies in her Condo – where she lived fiercely independently in her 94 year, until just weeks ago…

But the note that sticks out for me is a question on her pre planned funeral arrangements.. (that says a lot about Mom alone) – What was she proudest of? Her children. We were here at her bedside as she took her last breaths, we knew this was her greatest wish, that we her children, be together, with her…and that we take care of each other as she has done for us, always. The lord is my shepherd - my mom was my Shepard. Mom was a ferocious learner, never stopped, curious and passionate, She was a PROBUS club member and loved Third Age Learning lectures, she was a registered nurse and taught nursing as a profession, she loved to play bridge, (I remember clearing ash trays and stealing Bridge Mix candy from the tables on Parkwood Dr in North Bay)

To the end she studied her medical test results and offered knowledgeable insight… and even mustard enough energy to tell my son Scott, upon dropping of flowers for Grandma last week, to be sure to wash his hands… always looking out for us.

She was an innovator long before being an innovator became popular – she loved to think and find wise solutions… (I remember the folding sewing table that attached to the wall over my bed, that she used when I was away at school – and when I was home the sewing room went back to Jamie’s room for the weekend.)

She never missed a chance to do something kind for another.

She was a traveler, after raising us she began to travel the world, but mostly finding the sea when she could.

She was my rock and still is, wisdom, for me it wasn’t whether she was right our not, it was she had perspectives I could not fathom, surviving the passing of a son, my brother Roddy, the passing of a husband, dear Dad, growing up through depression and war, battled cancer, heart attack, and raising and providing for the four of us... on her own.. She is a rock, and my Shepherd. I wish I would have paid more attention and listened more, to the wisdom, I miss that already, but I will never loose the love, compassion and faith that mom shared with us and everyone she met every day of her long and courageous life...

She would want us to have a smile and a laugh together today, I will try, I might laugh most because one more time I didn’t due exactly as she said… but as usual she is right,

A wonderful life, not with out its struggles, but Mom you made each us special people and I will carry that with me always…


My shepherd. Love you mom.

Though I may walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: because I know you are with me; as you always have been.




128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page